How to Upload a Drawing

The purpose of this article is to explain how a user can upload a new Drawing within tpCDE. It will also explain how to appoint an approver, and how to compose a message.

Uploading a Drawing

In order to upload a new Drawing, navigate to Drawing Management, followed by Drawings, where drawing files are stored and managed.

If you have the right to upload a drawing to the project room, you can either navigate to New in the action area and select Drawings, or select the Pen and Paper symbol displayed next to Drawings in the navigation area: 

blobid0.png
blobid1.png

You will then be displayed with the below pop-up box where you start the drawing upload. Select Add file(s) to access your hard drive and search for the desired files. Alternatively, you can upload the file by dragging it directly from your hard drive to the Drop files here field:

blobid2.png

Note

The upload is only possible if the file is named according to the drawing code and it corresponds to the PDF format.

Every drawing PDF file has the option to be uploaded with a CAD file in the DWG format. You can add any additional files to the drawing-PDF under Additional Files.

It is not possible to select a CAD file for a drawing once the drawing is sent to the project room. To add a CAD file later, the drawing must be set invalid and uploaded again.

DWG files can only be uploaded attached to a drawing PDF file. You can select multiple PDF and corresponding DWG files on your desktop and upload all together. To do this, select the Upload PDF+DWG button to perform the upload simultaneously. The PDF and DWG files must have the same drawing code and if they are named correspondingly they are matched together automatically.

blobid3.png blobid5.png

Once uploaded, you will find everything filed automatically:

blobid6.png

You can delete files from the input screen by clicking the red X next to the file titles.

If a drawing file is not named correctly according to the drawing code, you will see a new window with the message that the file has been removed. All removed files will be underlined and displayed in red. The underlining and change of colour starts exactly where the name diverges from the drawing code in order to help you find the error. You can rename the file on your desktop and start the upload again:

blobid4.png

Assign a Drawing Title

Next, you need to assign a title to every newly uploaded drawing. Later the drawing can be found and filtered through it’s title. Only drawings matching the drawing code are displayed.

Note

Index and titles are different. With it’s Index, a drawing and its different versions can be unambiguously identified by the system. The drawing title, which must be given to every newly uploaded drawing, helps the users identify the content. The title is assigned once the drawing is uploaded, you don’t need to change it every time the drawing changes its index. If a drawing index changes, the predecessor’s title appears as a suggestion in the set-up screen and can usually be adapted.

The uploaded files are now stored in the platform cache drive and can be accessed there until they are sent.

The platform cache drive is a temporary file storage, where the drawings are stored during the upload. If you want to upload large amounts of drawing files and some files are not named according to the drawing code, you don’t need to start the upload of the whole package again. Every correctly named file is stored in the cache drive and if you rename and successfully re-upload the non-conformant files, they are matched to the list of stored files as they were intended to be from the beginning. Files that are already uploaded but not yet sent remain in the cache drive for 10 days and are deleted automatically afterwards.

 
Additional files can be added to the drawing PDF in the Additional Files field. You can attach a list of materials or other additions here. If the additional file has the same drawing code as the drawing PDF and the file name ends with …_list.[format] you can select the additional file together with the drawing-PDF and the DWG-file on your hard drive, and all files will be matched together automatically. Select Upload PDF+DWG to upload file packages.

Appointing an Approver

Please note, it is not necessary to appoint an approver to upload a drawing.

If the drawings you want to upload have not been approved, it is possible to appoint one or more approvers directly when the drawing is first uploaded. The approvers can then access the drawings directly under My To-do's (approver).

To appoint an approver, click on the blue bar and select Drawing Approval > Commenting. The input screen for the drawing approval unfolds. Navigate to the Lock symbol and click to unlock.

You can select an approver by typing their name in the field above the member list, or navigate through the list to find the desired approver. To assign the approval, double click on the approvers name in the list or select a name, then click +.

You can name one or more approvers. All appointed approvers will appear in the Approval by field. The drawing approval will be finished when every listed approver has approved the plan. If you wish to delete a name from the Approval by list, select the desired name(s), and click Delete sections:

blobid0.png

Composing a Message

You can directly forward a drawing to other members or add a message to the drawing, but this step is not a requirement for the upload.

Note

If you do attach a message to the drawing, other members will be notified via forwarding to their registered e-mail address.

Navigate to the blue bar and select Message. If you want to select a member from the project room, you can type in the name in the To field. If you click on the To field, the address book with a list of all members opens. You can search for the relevant member(s) in the Find Member field. It is possible that you will find project specific recipients that are fixed for all messages, fixed recipients cannot be deleted.
blobid1.png

Check the Preview and Send

Before sending the drawing to the system you can check your inputs by selecting Preview. This selection composes the message as it will be sent later. You can also access the preview by clicking Next.

Note

Please note, the document will not be sent by clicking Next.

After composing, the message will appear. Before clicking Send it is always possible to return to Compose and edit the message.

If the message has been checked and is ready to be sent, select Send > OK:

blobid2.png
After confirming, the document will be sent to all recipients. If no recipient is added, the message will be sent to the system and stored there where it can be found by all registered members.

Was this article helpful?
3 out of 3 found this helpful

Need further help? Contact our Support Team