The Purpose of this article is to explain what the use of the internal clipboard is.
The Clipboard is located within the System Module Section. Once selected the content of the clipboard will become visible in the main section. Here you will be able to see what documents have been saved to the clipboard and will also be able to upload documents yourself.
Each user has their own clipboard. This can only be viewed by this user and is not visible to other project users. Documents that are only on the clipboard are therefore not visible to other project users.
The Purpose of using the clipboard can be to store files temporally within the platform, without having to assign them to a specific location or communicating to other users.
If you want to upload large amounts of drawing files and some files are not named according to the drawing code, you don’t need to start the upload of the whole package again. Every correctly named files are stored in the clipboard and if you rename and successfully re-upload the non-conformant files, they are matched to the list of stored files as they were intended to be from the beginning.
You can upload a document to your clipboard by selecting Clipboard under System Modules and then select Upload file in the main section.
You can select saved files from your clipboard and upload them in a document type. To do this, select the option to set up a new document, such as a drawing or project documents. In addition to the Add file (s) function, you can select Clipboard.
If selecting this in the drawing upload input screen, files which will show here are files which have been coded correctly.
If you have files on your clipboard that do not correspond to the drawing code, you can also change the file name there directly by clicking on the pen and paper & pen symbol in front of the corresponding file name. A new window will open. Here you can edit the file name and save your changes with Save at the top left.
You can delete the files that are on the clipboard by highlighting/selecting the files and then clicking Delete Marked Files under Edit at the top of the action bar.
Users find the process of uploading larger Data File e.g., 6GB to the clipboard first and then selecting them from the clipboard into you input screen i.e., Project Documents, is quicker and an error code is less likely to appear.
Screenshots are an example. The interface of your platform may look different, but the processes remain the same.
Some of the functions shown may differ slightly depending on the release version of your project room.