Form State & the Lifecycle of a Form

Templates can be in one of two states, Designing and Published. Using the Search field, Folders
options and filters at the top of the screen, you can select your templates.

mceclip0.png

Forms start their life in Design State. This stage is where you design and pilot test your forms. You can issue Design State forms to users to test your form design and export methods, but you must publish templates before you use them to capture live data.

Designing - Templates in Design state can be edited and re-saved. They can be seen on the iPad by any Form Authors, or if the template has been allocated to a user’s group. Whilst you can make some changes
without the underlying database being effected, any changes made to a design state template that involve any change to the collection of fields, will cause all previously entered forms to be deleted. 

This is one of the reasons that forms in design state should never be used to capture live data. Forms
used to capture live, valuable data should always be published before use.

WARNING: DO NOT USE TEMPLATES THAT ARE NOT PUBLISHED FOR LIVE DATA AS DATA LOSS CAN
OCCUR WHILE A TEMPLATE IS IN DESIGNING MODE AND BEING TESTED.

Published - When you have thoroughly tested and piloted your form design and are ready to capture live data, you should first Publish the form. Published forms are locked by the Template Designer in order to
prevent data loss due to unexpected form changes that may affect the underlying database structure
of the template.

Some amendments to published forms are permitted, including:
● Reference text changes
● Label text
● Scripting changes
● Metadata
● Some element properties (e.g. visibility, enabled, amend single/multi select options)
● Add/update local databases
● Enable audio
● Amend prefill options

Scripting changes made after a template has been published, affect both In Progress and Submitted
forms. However this depends on whether the submitted form is of a template type that permits
edits to submitted forms. Changes to the Reference Text of forms only takes effect after forms have
been saved again, or submitted. Only Published forms can be exported to the Cloud Hub.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Need further help? Contact our Support Team