Create and Manage Workflows for Areas

The purpose of this article is to explain how to create and manage workflows for areas. 

To leverage the full capabilities and power of the Areas module, it is possible to add custom workflows for areas that have been cut.

To do so, you have to go through 4 main activities:

 

I. CREATING WORKFLOW FOR AREAS

  1. Click Setup

    Add_New_Users.png

  2. Click Settings
  3. Click the + NEW button and select Generic Workflow. The item will be added at the top of the displayed list

mceclip0.png

  1. Click Generic Workflow in the list
  2. Enter a name for the workflow
  3. Click Edit Workflow

  mceclip1.png

 

II. CREATING THE STEPS IN THE WORKFLOW

The next stage is to create the steps of the workflow and to set their possibilities to be raised from each other in the workflow.

  1. Click New Step
  2. Enter a name for the step in the process
  3. Select a colour to visually identify this specific step
  4. Click Save
    mceclip2.png

  5. Repeat this process until all steps in the workflow are complete.


mceclip3.png

 

After completing each step creation, it is necessary to then “link” the steps by dragging from the left-hand menu the step into the box of the process step it can be raised from.


mceclip4.png

  1. Click Save upon completion.

III. SETTING PERMISSIONS FOR THE STEPS

After creating the steps, it's necessary to set the permissions for each group against each step in the workflow.

  1. Click Edit Workflow for the corresponding workflow
  2. Click ACL 
  3. Specify what the role can do against each step. You can use the legend at the bottom of the screen to guide you through the different options (view, not view, edit)

    mceclip5.png
  4. Click Save upon completion

IV. ENABLING THE MODULE AND WHO CAN SEE IT ON THEIR MENU

The final step in the configuration process is to enable the actual feature and set who can access the module. It is effective particularly on the mobile device and the following will ensure users can see it after synchronization.

  1. Click Field
  2. In the dropdown menu, select Area to filter the items related to the areas

    mceclip6.png

  3. Click the name to display a popup where you can rename the workflow (if required, this is the name that will be displayed to the end-user)
  4. Click Save upon completion

    mceclip7.png

  5. Click Manage to set the permissions
  6. Roles & Groups will be displayed, you can then set the permissions

    The available options are:

    No permission (both icons are greyed out) No_permission.png
    View only (the eye icon is NOT greyed out) Read_only.png
    Edit (both icons are NOT greyed out) Edit_permission.png

    mceclip8.png
  7. Close the window upon completion
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Need further help? Contact our Support Team